Angel Wings

Abby has an uncle that she has never met. Her uncle, Cody, died in a car accident before she was born. He was a senior in High School. He was 17 years old. I never met Cody, but he’s been a huge part of Abby’s life.

Abby and I live on a small farm. Death is not something that has been hidden. She knows that she can’t play with her goats because they died. She knows she can’t play with her dog because she died. She knows my O’Sensei died, and we visit his grave at least once a year. She visits Uncle Cody much more frequently. Her Grandma Terri, the same one she visits every other weekend, takes her frequently to visit Uncle Cody.

This weekend Abby was at GT’s. I picked Abs up at the usual spot this morning, and we headed to my aunt’s house. On the way there, Abby and I had been talking about her weekend. We’d both gotten quiet when a little voice said, “Mommy, do you know about Uncle Cody’s van?” I had to think for a minute before I said, “I know a little bit, baby.” We had the following conversation:

Abby: Can I tell you about it?

Me: If you want to talk about it, you can.

Abby: Uncle Cody had a van. He wrecked it. He died and went to Heaven.

Me: Yes, Abby, he did go to Heaven.

Abby: Is he watching me?

Me: He is. He’s watching over you to make sure you’re okay. I’m sure he really misses you, and he absolutely loves you.

Abby: Can we visit Heaven?

Me: No, sweets, we can’t. Heaven is very, very, very, very far away.

Abby: But Uncle Cody’s watching?

Me: He is.

It wasn’t a long conversation, but it brought me to tears. Abby is one special, special little girl.

Leave a Reply

