I Voted

I have dragged Abby along with me every time I’ve voted. This year is no exception. Last year was the first year she realized what was going on. She was 2, and oh boy was she pissed where there wasn’t a boat, and, not even, her excitement over the firetruck that was there did much to quell her anger.

This year, she started questioning what voting is. Do you know how hard it is to explain that to a three-year-old? We get to our polling place, and there is no waiting. I get in, get my ballot, and Abby follows me around. Once I’ve submitted it, she gets a sticker, and I get a sticker.

Abby: What does the sticker say?
Me: It says, “I voted.” And it has a picture of Kentucky because that’s where we live.

Abby: I can’t wait to tell my friends I voted.

 

It made me very, very happy.

Leave a Reply

