Clocks Make Me Anxious

Well, I had that appointment, you know, the one where all women are forced to endure violations just to make sure the baby makin’ parts are healthy. Yep, today I went to the gynecologist. They did all that fun question and answer stuff. Checked my vitals, and my blood pressure was very, very high. What can I say? I was having anxiety issues. The clock in the waiting room was really, really loud. I could literally hear every second tick by while I waited.

I was already amped up, on edge, controlled by the anxiety. The waiting, the ticking, was not good at all. I talked to my doctor, a lovely woman, and she asked what had been going on in my life, how frequent were the anxiety and panic attacks. She also wanted to know exactly why I was opposed to the meds. The stuff I had in the past just made me feel dull.

We discussed meds for awhile, and she prescribed me one that was just for anxiety and not for depression. And, it’s a low dose, too. I guess I’ll see how it works. I’m pretty much just testing it until I go back for my birth control switch out. They have to order my implant, which should hopefully be in by the end of the week, so I can take a half day off work Monday. Anyway, I’ll be taking a half dose every day for a week or so before increasing.

Now for a fun bit of irony: I’m having super high anxiety about taking an anti-anxiety medicine. Because my life can’t be simple. I’m doing the hand rubbing thing, foot/leg shaking, and over thinking thing. My stomach is a ball of knots, also cramps from the above-mentioned doctor’s appointment. Even the knots have knots.

2 thoughts on “Clocks Make Me Anxious

  1. I’m scared of anxiety medication. I guess I’m lucky and my doctor said “Call when you are going on a flight and will give you something for that. Other than that I will recommend you for a psychologist and cognitive therapy. Have a good day!” – and the only reason I consider myself lucky is due to the anxiety the mentioning of medication would give me! But for a few weeks now I have been pretty good, had an incident on Sunday that made me highly uncomfortable.

    I guess I try to focus on the good things at the moment and it kind of helps, until I have to be social that is 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m terrified of the meds. It took me a good little bit to take the first pill. The next two days after that, I forgot to bring them with me and didn’t get home until well after midnight, so I didn’t take them. Last night was a high anxiety situation: I got lost on the way to a place I’ve never been to see people I didn’t know. Well, I knew one of them, so I waited until the people I knew showed up. I sat out in my car for forty-five minutes trying to explain to the 3-year-old why we were getting out of the car. As soon as I left though, the anxiety eased. No anxiety attack, no panic attack. I took the pill when I got home. I’m going to give it a chance. I trust this doctor, and I know a couple of people who take this one, and they love it!

      When I’m having the anxiety attacks, focused breathing can help, but I usually have trouble thinking about other things. The therapist helped me a little, but the anxiety was too high for me to keep going. I know I should start going when the anxiety isn’t high, but I don’t know if I can.

      I loathe being social. There are a handful of people I can be around; they’re still exhausting, but they understand my flavor of crazy. They know when to back off, and they don’t force me. Some of my other people, don’t quite get it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

