The Super Secret Surprise Crochet Project

A few days ago, it dawned on me that I have never made Abby anything. I’ve made several test patterns that I have given her. But nothing that was specifically designated for her. I felt a little guilty about it, so I did what all crafters do.

I hopped in my car and went to the craft store. This was an Abby free weekend. I picked out a pretty pink and a charcoal gray. Two skeins of each should be enough yarn for a small backpack for her. After all, she needs something to put her dance stuff in.

I searched the internet for a small backpack pattern and found a bunch. I didn’t like any of them. So I’m making it up as I go along, just like everything else I do. it’s going well, slow, but well.

I’m done with the bottom of the bag, and I’ve just star20160906_193047.jpgted working on the sides. Isn’t it beautiful?! The base turned out a little bigger than I had originally planned, but I like it.

I made a teeny mistake when joining the pink yarn, but I might have fixed it. The straps and drawstring will be in the gray. The flap will be gray with a pink scalloped border.

Mom is going to line the inside of the bag with fabric for me. I’m sure I have some leftover broadcloth from another project.

Abby doesn’t know what I’m making. She knows it’s a surprise for her, but that’s it. She gets excited when I sit down to work on it. I’m hoping to have it finished by the end of this weekend or the middle of next week. The lining might take a little while to do, though.

Leave a Reply

