Murphy’s Law

Disclaimer: If you don’t like talk about menstration, don’t read this post.

 

You know the saying, “Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong.” This tends to be true for my life. I tend to have benign bad luck. Nothing dangerous or too severe, but inconvenient, frustrating, and disheartening. Like spending 5 hours on the phone because Abby’s insurance was cancelled 30 days earlier than it should have been, and she had a massive allergic reaction while the first phone call was going on resulting in a trip to the ER. I typically just say “my luck” and try to brush it off. It IS amusing after the fact, and everyone, myself included, just laugh at how bad my luck is.

Today has been one of those days. It started with a moldy muffin, and no, that’s not a euphamism despite how much I want it to be. Abby wanted a “juice” which is merely a fruit flavored drink not an actual fruit juice. We get it maybe once a week. I woke her up early. We hit the gas station, and I bought breakfast. Blueberry muffins and chocolate milk are one of my absloute favorite things. Abby wanted a juice and pretzels. I opened her pretzels and juice. I opened my milk, and eagerly opened that muffin. It had mold on top of it. I just stared at it for a moment before putting it back in the package.

Abby was dropped off at daycare, and Dad and I went on to work. I walk with a couple of other women on breaks, and while heading downstairs, I dropped my phone. There are several scratches on the phone, but the screen, amazingly, didn’t shatter. Like I said, nothing bad, just frustrating.

Another hour or so goes by, and I need a snack. It’s not lunch time, and I’ve alreday downed  64 ounces of water. My plan is to get up, go to the bathroom, and get a bag of chips. While in the bathroom, I noticed that my period started. Great, just flipping great. It’s no big deal, I always carry pads with me. Except, I had none in my purse. I can’t just use pads. I have certain brands and types that I use. If you’ve never had an allergic reaction down there, I don’t recommend it. It’s probably the worst thing ever. So, I’m trying to decide what to do, and I find my menstrual cup in the bottom of my bag. I vaguely remember throwing it in there the day before. I hate using it when I’m not at home. HATE HATE HATE!!! But I didn’t have much of a choice.

I’m exhausted, emotional, hormonal, and grumpy. I’m tired of today, and I just want to be in bed. However, I’m going to go to one of my happy places for a couple of hours. I think I need a break from home for awhile.

Leave a Reply

