A Home Away From Home

I live in Kentucky. I live out on a small farm near several “small” towns, but I’m not actually part of any of them; it’s rather wonderful. I love where I live. it’s full of crafters and artisans. All you have to do is sneeze, and you’ve mostly likely found someone who makes the thing you’re looking for.

Day 4, Bliss

I am happiest when I’m making something. It doesn’t matter what I’m making, so long as I’m doing the creative. I had originally planned to take pictures of my yarn stash, but I hadn’t gotten around to it yet. So, today, while I was playing with my camera, and realized that I needed to leave or not be able to eat breakfast before a crafting class. The camera came along with me.

IMG_2787.CR2(4)

Susan, owner of Elements

I bought and drank breakfast*, and then I headed over to Elements Clay Studio for a Glass Frit class. It was a TON of fun! I absolutely adore Susan, the owner. She’s so genuinely excited over everything you create. I became hooked on pottery painting a couple of years ago, and I’m working on making a tea set one piece at a time.

Somewhere along the way, I realized that Elements is one of my happy places. Walking in, I can forget the world exists for a couple of hours. When I’m done, I always have something beautiful. If you’re ever in Lawrenceburg, Kentucky. Stop in and check Susan out. Now for the pictures.

Most aren’t very good, as I was very shaky today. But a few of them, make me smile. I opted for an already drawn lotus flower as my design. I’d never done Glass Frit before, so I didn’t want to work with new material while designing out of my head. It’s surprisingly easy, and I can’t wait to see how my tile turned out, and I can’t wait to do it again.

I got excited and forgot to take pictures of the first three steps. That being, washing the tile, doing a background glaze, and placing the design on the tile. I will post a picture of the tile after it’s been fired.

 

Bonus Picture! I was standing around after the class talking, and I happened to glance a little to my right. This is my absolute favorite from today.

IMG_2791.CR2

 

*Turns out, I didn’t like the sour cream doughnut holes, despite liking sour cream doughnuts. So I just stuck with my protein drink.

 

4 thoughts on “A Home Away From Home

  1. I’m pretty sure I need to find something creative to do – but painting pottery, maybe not. I can barely put on nail polish without it going all over the place. So painting my IKEA furniture might be more the thing for me.

    Keep up the good work with being creative!

    Like

    • Once the frustration of trying to learn something new wears off, creativity is the best way, for me, to cope with the world. I highly suggest it. Try and find some one close to you who teaches classes. Go visit and talk to them. It’s worth the money, if they’re a good teacher.

      I am not a painter. I was so hesitant and terrified the first time I did it. But, Susan was amazing! My first project was a mug, and it turned out great! I’ll have to find it, and the rest of my projects, so I can post pictures.

      Like

Leave a Reply

