“I’m A Big Girl, Mommy!”

Abby has been in a “big girl bed” for a week now. She absolutely loves it. She picked out special sheets and blankets, and then, while she was away at Grandma Terri’s, dad and I took the crib railing off her bed. Every day, she has gotten up, gotten dressed, and then made her bed. She’s so proud of herself, and it’s the cutest thing ever!

The first couple of nights went off without a hitch. About Wednesday, or Thursday, Abby stood up out of bed, stared at me without saying anything. She sat down on the floor beside her bed, and I said, “Abby, lay back down in your bed.”

She looked at me for a moment and said, “No, I am the floor.” She then proceeded to topple over sideways. As soon as she hit the floor, she started snoring again.

That incident, and one where she woke up scared because of the wind and crawled into bed with me, are the only times she’s not stayed in bed.

Because of her allergies, I change her sheets and blankets at least two times during the week. Clean sheets-if they’ve been left sitting out- will be washed and dried again. The sheet will go straight from the dryer to her bed. I didn’t do the mid-week sheet change this week. Her pillow gets washed once a week. Her stuffed creatures are washed every two weeks while she gone to her grandmother’s.

Even with all of her allergy meds, her immune system still goes haywire. Tonight, for example. She’s congested and coughing. She finally has an appointment with a dermatologist. The kid has more doctor’s than I do.

Leave a Reply

