A Little Tiny Hiccup

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Six of One, Half a Dozen of the Other.”

My six word story: All I can see is exhaustion.

Six days into NaNo, and I’m utterly exhausted. The only time I can really write is after the baby is in bed. I typically go to bed shortly after she does. So, I’ve been losing an extra two or three hours of sleep a night. I’m wearing down. I have so many things to do, and so little time to do them. So, here’s a list:

A List of  Things I Need To Do:

  1. Find a time turner and use it. One me can work and take care of the kid. The other me can write. (I want to be the other me.)
  2. Find a cloning machine, because I’ve just realized that two mes aren’t enough. One me can write. One me can take care of the kid. One me can write. One me can craft for the Craft Show that’s a month away.
  3. Use cloning machine on food. Look, I’ve just saved money!
  4. Use magic to add extra time in the day so all the mes have enough time to get all the things done.
  5. Regret renting to movies to watch tonight. I’ve been sitting for more than five minutes. The exhaustion caught up with me.
  6. Enjoy the cheesecake brownie ice cream in the fridge. I’m the busiest lazy person I know.

This has been a list fueled by, you guessed it, exhaustion (also cheesecake brownie ice cream).

30 Days of Thanks, Day 6: I am thankful for all of my extra projects.

NaNo Word Count: 4,687/50,000

Post Script: I had a little document saving hiccup last night. It ended with me having to retype everything. Whoo!

4 thoughts on “A Little Tiny Hiccup

  1. Hang in there, Hannah. You can do this. Even if you don’t get 50,000 words. I only finished 28,000 words last year, but that was the most I ever wrote in one month, so it was progress. The big deal is finding SOME time to write every day. Obviously, families take time, and they don’t keep. Employers want their money’s worth. Write lots of words when you can, and less when you can’t. Even 250 words a day is good. That’s one page. If you wrote that much every day for a year, you’d have 365 pages. Don’t give up!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your kind words and encouragement!

      What I’m finding most difficult is that I’ve hit 50k before. Since the baby has been born, it’s been more of a struggle than I expected. Just have to stay positive!

      Like

    • It is heavenly! It’s one of my top five favorites.

      No, she doesn’t recognize weekends. She was up at 5 this morning creating chaos (she can lock and unlock doors, as well as open them). As a result, I ordered a SUPER FANCY SCHMANCY baby gate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

