The Month of Everything

National Novel Writing Month, National Blog Posting Month, and 30 Days of Thanks all started to day. Two of these things I’ve done before. One of them I’ll be attempting for the first time. I’m combining them all into one blog post. I’m sure it will be rambling and weird.

I’m not feeling very thankful or appreciative today. Last night and this morning have been one of the roughest times of my life. One of my very beloved animals had to be put down this morning. Something was very wrong with him. He was not well. He was not happy. He was in an extreme amount of pain. I honestly didn’t think he’d survive the night, but I couldn’t ease his suffering until this morning. It broke my heart. This morning he had disappeared. I found him tangled up in a rose bush across the street. He was worse. He was put down soon after I freed him. That was both one of the most difficult and easiest decisions I’ve ever made.

I came home and started writing. I stopped long enough to go to a memorial for a friend. My dad kept Abby while I was gone. When I came home, she was asleep beside him, and he was watching football. I started writing again. I moved her to her crib when he had to leave. She slept and I wrote for several hours. I didn’t get much accomplished though. I’ve been hung up on one particular scene. I finally moved past it, or, well, before it actually. I did that and hit a stride.

30 Days of Thanks, Day 1: I am thankful for creative escapes. Today, it was much needed.

NaNo Word Count: 1,034/50,000

5 thoughts on “The Month of Everything

  1. Sorry for the loss of your friend and pet; focusing on writing can be difficult while mourning but writing can also be a much needed escape. I am impressed with your approach to diving right into NaNoWriMo, NaBloPoMo and 30 Days of Thanks. Combining all three into one update and blog post appears to be working out nicely. Good luck with all three challenges.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind words. They are greatly appreciated.

      Combining all three was the only way to keep my sanity! Before November, I barely posted anything. It’s been interesting trying to make a post a day.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Follow Friday – NaBloPoMo | from the sticks to the bricks and back again

Leave a Reply

