The Winged Pants

National Novel Writing Month is just a little over 24 hours away. I can’t wait to start writing. I’m dying to escape into a world of my own creation. I have a brand new keyboard, my favorite writing snacks, and absolutely no idea what I’m going to write.

For the last few weeks, I’ve been agonizing over the fact that I don’t have a story idea, or a character, or a setting, or any kind of PLAN. I love plans. I love lists. I love organizing. I sat down several times to brainstorm and outline. I hit a big wall of nothing. Every. Single. Time. I’m traditionally a pantser, so this comes as absolutely no surprise to me, as frustrating as it is.

As I was driving to work this morning, the sun was just starting to peek up. I was stopped at a light, when I noticed the exhaust coming from the car in front of me. BAM! Story idea! And, no, it doesn’t have anything to do with cars or their emissions. It was just a quick little snippet of a scene, but it was enough to spark something.

I also recently discovered National Blog Posting Month. Yeah, I’m adding that to the list of things I’m doing in November, because who has time for sleep? Prepare yourself for daily rambling posts about NaNoWriMo and what ever else pops into my head. For now, I’m going to work on the Halloween costumes I haven’t started making yet.

I so win at this whole procrastination thing.

Leave a Reply

