That Little Genie

That’s the thing about pain. It demands to be felt.

– John Green, The Fault In Our Stars

Yes, I did just pick a random John Green quote, because I am a proud nerdfighter. No, this quote has absolutely nothing to do with today’s post on my writing space. It’s a good quote. Don’t judge it.

I write wherever I am. Most of the time that’s in my bedroom on my bed. Today, that’s on my dining room table, which has become my dad’s computer repair place. It’s not perfect, but it will do for now. During NaNoWriMo, I write on whatever is available, myself, paper, cardboard, a computer, and I’ll type everything up after a couple of days so I have the word count.

My ideal writing space would be minimal. A desk, a comfortable couch to lounge on, soft lighting and plenty of windows. I love seeing the deep green during the summer, the ice white of winter, the bright newness of spring, and the colorful death in fall. It’s the ultimate muse.

But to go back to the quote for a moment. Stubbing your toe hurts, and I don’t recommend it. That is all.

P.S.

This post was published under the influence of not enough sleep and a screaming two year old. She’s not screaming at anything specific, because that would be easy.

7 thoughts on “That Little Genie

Leave a Reply

