Free Writing Shouldn’t Take So Long…

I am Hannah. A reader, a writer, a crafter, but most importantly, I’m a single mother just trying to survive. My life is crazy, to say the least. Between the baby, work, and organizing my yearly community service projects, I am stressed. Most of the time it’s good stress. Occasionally, I spend two days on the phone and a trip to the ER. On those days, I NEED self-expression. I CRAVE the release that comes along with writing. With all the insanity I forget to take care of myself. I lose myself. Writing, crafting, creating, is my relaxation. It’s my sanity.

I’ve started and stopped several blogs, none of them have stuck. It’s the same with journals and novels. For half of my life, I’ve wanted nothing more than to be a writer and a farmer. Oh, I never wanted to publish my writings. I am satisfied just to write. When the words flow freely, when that THING clicks into place, and everything is right with the world. I live for that moment. That is why I write.

Typically, I keep my writings to myself. I’m very uncomfortable having my works read. I created my blog as an attempt to force myself out of my comfort zone and to cope with the insanity of life. I love my kid, but it’s taken me two hours for 15 minutes of writing. I’m eagerly awaiting nap time.

12 thoughts on “Free Writing Shouldn’t Take So Long…

  1. I can identify with all of the above, Mom, crafter, reader, writer, Mom(two teenage daughters); and now that I’m out of the 9-5 rat race my dream is to live in solitude somewhere that will allow me to do all of the above.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think a lot of us are in the same boat, we just need to try to stick with it. For me half of the point of blogging 101 is to find others and to stay motivated together. Find our way through the blogosphere I guess 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Woaw, I hope those days at the ER aren’t too frequent!
    Sticking with writing can be difficult. It requires time, energy, discipline, inspiration, a quiet place to write, no kid/cat/spouse in our way, and a reason to write. I started and closed a few blogs as well over the years; I started one when I felt the need for it, and closed it when I no longer did. There was nothing wrong with that. I didn’t realise how liberating writing could be at the time. Now that I do, I intend to write every day, but there may come a time when I won’t feel the need for it anymore… At least not for a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I sincerely hope the ER trips aren’t too frequent, too! However, the kid is just like me(and her aunt). There’s a really cool program called 750 words (or something like that. I have nap brain.) Basically, it’s a daily journal thing where you write 750 words a day, or 3 pages, and you do this everyday. I think I made it a week. My writing discipline is seriously lacking.

      Like

      • Oh yes, 750words is great! I use it whenever I need to complain about or reflect on something that I want to keep to myself. These days I only use it to count the words I’ve read in German or Spanish!

        Like

Leave a Reply

