At Peace

Right now, I’m secretly watching my daughter. She’s reading a book to her baby doll, and they’re sitting beside each other on a blanket. My heart is happy. Now she’s caught me watching. Her little voice is saying, “Mommy, read!”

.  .  .

She snuggled right up next to me, and we read Sleeping Beauty. We read Sleeping Beauty seven times before she was distracted by her great-grandmother, GG.

Now everyone is in bed. This is my favorite time of night. Everything is quiet. The dogs are sleeping. The baby is snoring. Even the cats are still. Everything is calm. I am at peace. It’s a nice change of pace from my normal hustle and bustle.

Enjoy your night.

Leave a Reply

